RSS Feed

Is “The Biggest Loser” a “Big Winner” for Fitness Nursing?

Is TV’s “The Biggest Loser” a big WINNER for Fitness Nurses?
Well let’s think about it…
Everybody loves watching the show.
We love watching those very obese folks sweat and pant to the point of agonizing pain.
I’m actually wondering when they are going to pass out or have a heart attack right there on the spot.  Aren’t you?
I’ve asked many of my clients if they would go on that show…
“Yes!” one says without hesitation.
“Oh really?  Is it because of the workouts?”
“No.  It’s because I’ll be on television.”
Pause and silence.
 
“What if I told you  that I could get you an audition for that show next month?
Would you try out for it?”
“Absolutely…not”
I stand there with a confused look on my face…
“Didn’t you just say…”
Then I’m cut off…
“I can’t work out like that.  I barely can handle your workouts!”
I smile (on the inside)  “So, it’s just a fantasy for you?”
“Yes.  I suppose.  I know that they all gain their weight back within a few months.  And then
nobody remembers them.  Their 15-minutes of fame are gone.” 
She continues, “They become fatter than when they started.  That’s not for me.  I’ve been there before.  This time,
I’m in it for the long haul.  I want to be healthy.”
“WOW! You’re awesome!”, I replied.  “What I have been talking about over this past year has sunk in.”
What did I talk about?
How:
  1. If you want to lose 30 lbs. in 30 days permanently…cut off a body part.
  2. Your brain likes automation and pleasure.  Not deprivation and guilt.  Eat foods that you like, not that you hate and eat full-macronutrient meals.  Plan your meals and reward your body and mind for exercising.
  3. Losing weight as fast and as much as you can is a 15-minute of fame t.v. thing; maintaining weight is a life change that Fitness Nurses support and help you with.
  4. Health is not your weight.  Health is your love for your body.  As a favorite doc of mine says, “You must be healthy to lose weight; NOT lose weight to be healthy.”  ~Dr. Diana Schwarzbein, MD, Endocrinologist
  5. Fitness Nurses are in it with you for the long haul.  So it’s (your health-related numbers) that are going down, inch loss is permanent, healthy, and doable.
It’s nice to know that being a Fitness Nurse has impacted at least one of my clients to hang in there for the long haul and forget the quick fix…even if it means 15-minutes of fame.
What do you think?
Lori, Fitness Nurse, Certified Food Psychology Coach for Bio-circadian Nutrition
www.TheMinkyWay.com/sq
About fitnessnurse

President & Founder, FitnessNursing.com and Creator of Certified Fitness Nurse Academy, Paleo Fitness Nurse

3 responses »

  1. This is a great post Lori!

    I have thought about that show in the past. I even auditioned once. You’ve hit every point on the mark, “The Biggest Loser” doesn’t focus on long term health, as it does on loosing weight as quickly as possible. It’s an entertaining show, but regarding my overall health, I know there a healthier way to get there. A path that will allow me to focus on my mind, body and spirit.

    Thank you,

    Jeaneen

    Reply
  2. Jeaneen,
    That is amazing that you took a step towards being on the show. Please think about writing up a brief summary of what you had to do and what is was like to audition. Our readers would love to hear your initial “Biggest Loser” experience. I know I would.
    Please think about E-mailing it to me at: info@fitnessnursing.org
    Thank you for your nice comments.
    Lori

    Reply
  3. I would love to hear about your experiences as well! I can’t wait to see the great things that are coming out of this organization. I CANNOT WAIT!

    Tracy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

